Sunday, November 30, 2014

NaNoWriMo Winner 2014

I conquered NaNoWriMo!

I almost didn't make it. I had 8,000 words to go and only 2.5 days to do it, BUT I locked myself away in my office and got it done with only a few hours to spare. If you don't know what NaNoWriMo is, you can check out my article "NaNoWriMo Makes New York Times Best Sellers" on Delicious Reads. Authors like Marissa Meyer (Cinder) and Erin Morgenstern (The Night Circus) have participated in NaNoWriMo too!

It all comes down to this: you have to write 50,000 words of a new novel in the month of November. To give you an idea of how much that is, my recently released novel, Remembrandt, ended up having 65,700 words. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle has 49,965, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone has 77,508. So in essence, 50K is the bulk of a young adult novel.

What did I write this year? I debated for a long time what I wanted to work on for 2014 because I have a contemporary fantasy series that I love and can't wait to write the 3rd book. I also have an idea for a stand alone realistic fiction novel that I want to write too. In the end, I decided to work on the 2nd book in the Remembrandt series because 1.) I already have a publisher for it 2.) I'd already written a summary for it and 3.) Alexandra is so fun to write!

Certificate for winning NaNoWriMo

This is my 3rd year in a row doing NaNoWriMo and being a "winner." You'd think it would get easier, but it was so hard this year! With my book launch, book marketing, a trip to Washington State to fulfill my duties as Capsule Keeper, and, oh, taking care of five kiddos, including an 18 month old who won't let me sit at a computer, let's just say I spent many days typing late into the night.

Whew! Now I'm going to hibernate through the rest of the winter . . . except now that I have 50,138 words done of Remembrandt #2, I'm itching to complete the novel. Hold on Alex and Golkov and William and Daly - your story will continue soon enough. I just need a little sleep . . .

NaNoWriMo Winner! Now I get to have a break, right?

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Press Kit for Remembrandt by Robin King


Thursday, November 20, 7pm
Remembrandt Book Launch
The King's English
1511 South 1500 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84105

Local Suspense Author, Robin King, 
Debuts a Clean Teen Read Worth Remembering
Alexandra Stewart doesn’t just walk down memory lane, she lives on it.

Book cover for Remembrandt by Robin King


Alexandra Stewart doesn't just walk down memory lane, she lives on it.  Her eidetic memory records her experiences and plays them back, DVD style.  It's great when she wants to ace a test, but not so great when she topples over a cute boy in the hallway and the humiliation plays back over and over and over . . . Brown University seems like the perfect place for the seventeen-year-old to forget her past.  Hope for a normal life comes in the form of a handsome new running partner who makes her heart race and body perspire even before she laces up her shoes.   

When her Russian professor gives her a puzzle that seems impossible to solve, Alex discovers that he has a secret—one that will catapult her into a world of cryptic codes and covert missions.   As she tries to find a balance between the two different worlds vying for her attention, her have relationships with the ones she cares about while hiding a clandestine life, uncovering the truths of an underground enemy.

One thing is for certain, whatever happens will be forever etched into her memory.  And some things are better left forgotten.

REMEMBRANDT is the first in a young adult suspense series with playful romance, espionage, and a splash of mystery.  Fans of Ally Carter's HEIST SOCIETY and GALLAGHER GIRLS would enjoy reading this series.

150 Word Summary: 
Seventeen-year-old Alexandra Stewart doesn't just walk down memory lane, she lives on it.  Her eidetic memory records and plays back her memories, DVD style.  It's great when she aces a test, but not so great when she topples over a cute boy and the experience plays back on an endless loop of humiliation.

When her Russian professor gives her an impossible puzzle, Alex discovers he has a secret—one that will catapult her into a life of cryptic codes and covert missions. Of course, running secret ops would be easier if she weren’t trying to impress her handsome new running partner. As if love weren’t hard enough already, now she’s trying to find it while dodging bullets and going undercover.

Two worlds vie for her attention and Alex is caught in a battle of heart and mind. If you think keeping secrets is easy - forget it.

50 Word Summary
Alexandra starts a new semester at college, hoping to escape her painful memories—a nearly impossible task with her eidetic memory replaying everything in movie-esque detail. Things aren't always what they seem: her handsome running partner shows up when she least expects it, her Russian professor is anything but ordinary and Brown University holds a well-kept secret. 

Official Book Launch
Thursday, November 20, 7pm
The King's English
1511 South 1500 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84105

"A Night at the Opera"
Pull out those fancy gowns and dust off those tuxes because we are joining Alexandra at the Mariinsky Theatre! We may not be seeing an actual opera in Russia, but there will be entertainment (a reading from Remembrandt by author, Robin King), cocktails (non-alcoholic, of course), and maybe a song or two. A prize drawing will be held for everyone dressed in their best opera attire. The author will be signing books that can be purchased from The King's English that night. 


In this clever and fast-paced young adult novel, Robin King delivers a perfect mix of suspense and romance. . . .  Alexandra’s eidetic memory will reel you in, and her double life will keep you guessing until the end. —Brooke Hargett

Let’s be honest, we’ve all dreamed of being one of those suave, oh-so-cool spies or secret agents, right? Well, with Remembrandt, you get to be! Or at least, Alexandra gets to be, and the writing is so effortless you feel like you’re right there along with her.  —Caitlin Jacobs

Remembrandt is a remarkable book with a captivating plot that offers a fresh flavor of mystery. With an added pinch of espionage, a dollop of suspense, and a splash of romance, this book kept me reading and loving it. —Julia King, author of Félicité Found

What a great debut novel! Author Robin King keeps you intrigued as you try to figure out the puzzles Alexandra is faced with. . . . I would highly recommend this book to young adults and adults alike. —Wendy Mallatt


About the Author

Robin M. King received her bachelor’s degree in education from Brigham Young University and has been instructing children and young adults for over ten years. When she’s not writing or helping her students remember the quadratic formula, she leads a clandestine life in Lehi, Utah as a wife and a mother of five. Don’t tell anyone, but Robin’s also a marathoner, photographer, singer, seamstress, baker, and household-appliance repairman. You can find her online at and on social media @robinyourheart.

Price: $16.99
Publisher: Walnut Springs Press
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Binding: Softcover
Size: 5.5”x8.5”
ISBN-13 978-1-59992-948-4
ISBN-10 1-59992-948-1   
Release Date: November 2014

Available at Deseret Book and other local booksellers. 
Order online at or

Contact: Garry Mitchell
Walnut Springs Press
(801) 949-1083